WineBoard
A good solid starter Burgundy - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Pinot Noir/Red Burgundy (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-29.html)
+--- Thread: A good solid starter Burgundy (/thread-7055.html)

- Cowboyin Blake - 04-28-2005

anyone got a basic starter Burgundy i should try out ....i am just getting into Burgundy and would like to do some tastings and dont know what good ones start off with are. Any suggestions? Thanks guys and gals!

- Capocheny - 04-28-2005

For a really easy drinking pinot... try the Marimar Torres. I always have a few bottles in the cellar for friends who aren't much into wines (in general) and they seem to enjoy it very much.

This isn't to say that there isn't any substance to it though... it's quite delicious.

You can also try some of the Domaine Drouhin pinots... again, they're quite tasty and won't break your pocket book.

Babcock is another one I really enjoy...

So many wines... so little time!!! [img]http://www.wines.com/ubb2/smile.gif[/img]

Cheers

- Cowboyin Blake - 04-28-2005

I really am looking for French Burgundy ... any suggestions of a good starting point and then where to branch out from there?

- Innkeeper - 04-28-2005

As you may have gathered if you been reading the TNs on Burgundy on the board, buying Burgundy is a kind of roulette. A trustworthy retailer is your best bet. If you want to pick something on your own, a Volnay is a reasonable choice year after year, even when much else goes wrong.

- wondersofwine - 04-28-2005