WineBoard
CA PN Regions - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Pinot Noir/Red Burgundy (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-29.html)
+--- Thread: CA PN Regions (/thread-6565.html)

- MikeE - 05-29-1999

Opened a bottle of this last night. Nice dried cherry and slighlty "green" nose. Similar tastes, except that the acidity seemed pretty high. Is this fairly typical for HP? Bien Nacido?

Babcock's PN's don't seem to exhibit this style of acidity, but other Central Coast PNs seem fairly acidic to me (Byron, Au Bon Climat off the top of my head). Being a PN novice, I'd appreciate thoughts. As a frame of reference (and gross generalities), my favorite CA PN are usually from Russian River (Rochioli, Farrell). I'm luke warm on Carneros (way too much candied cherry flavors); have enjoyed Monterey/Paso Robles (Talley) and luke warm again on Napa PN. The Pisoni Vineyard is producing very lush fruit (Siduri, Nichols). I realize that these are generalities, but given limited sample sets, its the best one can do!

I realize that other wine boards have had the "which region produces the best PN" discussion, but I haven't seen it here yet. I also realize that I've excluded Oregon, but that's because I have had only a very few PNs from Oregon and couldn't reasonably even make generalizations.

Thoughts are appreciated!

- Bucko - 05-29-1999

Pinot Noir is one of my favorite varietals. I omit Burgundy because you have to kiss too many frogs to find a prince.