WineBoard
Know nothing about Bordeaux - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Bordeaux (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-18.html)
+--- Thread: Know nothing about Bordeaux (/thread-6014.html)

- simmasow - 03-24-2005

I'm pretty new to the wine game and drink mostly "New World" wines. Of course, despite some personal political feelings concerning the French, you have to eventually dip your toe in the water. Couple of questions:

1) What is a moderately priced Bordeaux for someone to try?

2) Does anyone have suggestions on a Bordeaux that would be good to drink 5 years from now for a special occasion?

Thanks in advance

(I live in the NYC area and frequent the Stew Leonards wine shop out on the Island--if this helps in the suggestions)

- Innkeeper - 03-24-2005

Hi Simmasow, and welcome to the Wine Board. For instant gratification you can try any of many excellent current bottlings in the $10-$12 range. One we recently enjoyed is Chateau Tour d'Auron, Bordeaux Superieur. Ours was a '00, but have heard good things about the '01. Search the achieves of this tread for other ideas.

For a five year lay downer recommend the current release of Les Fiefs de Lagrange. This is the second label of Chateau Lagrange. Big papa (Lagrange) and its breathern in a good vintage, need 10 years or so of rest.

- hotwine - 03-24-2005