WineBoard
Complete Newbie looking for all-around good wines. - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Complete Newbie looking for all-around good wines. (/thread-23184.html)

Complete Newbie looking for all-around good wines. - Whiskylover - 09-11-2015

As my name states, I'm a whisky (scotch) drinker. I can drink all hard liquor but keep only whisky's and brandies in my cabinet. I get a visceral reaction to drinking beer or wine (both red and white). Therefore I have no taste for (and unable to understand/appreciate) wine.

I would like to have a few red and white wines for when I have people over for a small gathering to relax and chat; no special occasion. I know tastes differ but there are generally a few bottles (of scotch) that are appealing to many palates and can be appreciated by all.

Though I could easily spend 60-150 for a single malt scotch, I would also like to keep the price capped at $30 (or below) because I rarely have company over. Therefore, the wine could spoil before it's even opened (unlike whisky which seems to keep forever). I went on a whole bunch of sites to see what are good all-around wines to have stocked up and compiled this list:

California Zinfandel
- Old Vine Zinfandel
- Heritage Vines Zinfandel
- Lodi Zinfandel

Italian Chianti
- Castiglioni Chianti
- Ruffino Chianti

New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc
- Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc

Italian Prosecco
- Prosecco di Valdobbiadene Frizzante

Merlot
- Blackstone Winery Merlot
- Pepperwood Grove-California Merlot
- Columbia Valley Merlot

Chardonay
- Sonoma County Chardonnay
- Vintner’s Reserve Chardonnay