WineBoard
New to wine - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: New to wine (/thread-18347.html)

- spoki - 02-01-2004

I am new to wine, I do enjoy wine with or without food, in fact its one alcohol I can drink (without pulling face) get drunk and still behave normally, I would like to know what is good wine, how do you know it, taste, I come from a beautiful country - South Africa that has a wide vareity of wine (Excellent choices I hear them say)

------------------

- jaimz - 02-01-2004

Great...I'm fairly new to this as well...i love south african wines...look forward to talking more...

- wineguruchgo - 02-01-2004

Hello Spoki and Jaimz,

Welcome to both of you to the wineboard!

South Africa is best known for the Pinotage grape which is a cross between Pinot Noir and Cinsault. It was developed in 1925 and has fallen in and out of favor. Here is what I have found on the internet about the flavor profile:

Pinotage may be made in several different styles: young, light, and fruity, like Beaujolais, deep and rich like a Cotes du Rhone or Zinfandel, or elegant and restrained like Bordeaux are the most common styles. There are also a few rare 'blush' versions and several fortified into "Ports." At least one producer makes Methode Champenoise sparkling red Pinotage.

There should be an abundant choice of wine from the motherland where you are. They are bottling Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir.

Quick run down: Chardonnay can taste like toasted fresh fruit, apples, pears, etc.. Sauvignon Blanc will be slightly sweeter like mangos or melon.

For the reds: The Pinot Noir will more than likely taste like fresh cherries while the cabernet will be more like dark berry fruit -blackberries.