WineBoard
Help! Need some names of good wines - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Help! Need some names of good wines (/thread-16416.html)

- YNE101 - 05-06-2005

Ok guys I'm new here. I'm 22 and am not really knowledgable about drinks. I drink on occaison but hardy ever wine. I've had wine twice in my life and don't remember the names. I'm a total rookie. I've heard of names like merlot, chardonay, white zinfadel, etc. Ok the thing is I am going to a fancy restaurant tommorow with my new boyfriend and his boss and his bosses wife. This is the first time I'm meeting them. I've been to a couple nice restaurants before but never order wine. I think wine would go best tommorow, but I don't want to look like a dork trying to order it. What is a good commen wine that would most likely be offered at a five star restaurant? Thanks

- Georgie - 05-06-2005

I'd let someone else suggest a bottle of wine and you just have some of whatever they order.

- YNE101 - 05-06-2005

Good idea Georgie. I hope someone does that, but what if two of the people both want a glass of something different. I want to be prepared here.

- hotwine - 05-06-2005

Welcome to the board, YNE.

Rather than trying to come up with a wine that you might find at your 5-star restaurant, suggest you defer to the BF's boss: let him choose the wine(s). There's nothing dorky about that. He can order by the glass to match each entree, or he can select a single bottle that can pair nicely with all four, once the entrees have been selected. Maybe your new BF might want to do the honors of selecting the wine; you don't need to worry about it. Just enjoy the evening. The new BF will be showing you off to his boss & the missus, and you won't need to be a Master of Wine to impress them.

- wondersofwine - 05-06-2005