WineBoard
help newbie choose wine from strasbourg - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Germany/Alsace/Wines/Varieties (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-23.html)
+--- Thread: help newbie choose wine from strasbourg (/thread-11027.html)

- mdude85 - 06-01-2005

Hi everyone. I am a student from the US but I am traveling in Europe this summer. This weekend I am going to Strasbourg to pick out some wine for my father's birthday. He is an avid drinker (has about 400 bottles and tastes 3 times a week) but I am not so experienced. I am looking for something completely local to the region (that I cannot buy in the States) and something in the 25-30 euro range (or cheaper is fine too).

Is there anything unique that you can recommend? I do not really know his personal tastes except I do not think he likes sweet wine. I'm sure he will appreciate anything I get but I don't want it to be completely bad. [img]http://www.wines.com/ubb2/smile.gif[/img] Any ideas??

Thanks!

--Scott

[This message has been edited by mdude85 (edited 06-01-2005).]

- wondersofwine - 06-01-2005

Oops, I read your posting wrong and thought you said he LIKES sweet whites so I posted on a Gewurztraminer Vendanges Tardives or Riesling late harvest. Since he DOESN'T LIKE sweet whites look for a bottle or half bottle of a Boxler or Weinbach Gewurztraminer (not the Vendanges Tardives) or a Riesling. While Boxler or Weinbach wines may be found in the USA, they aren't as easy to come by as the Trimbach or Hugel wines.

- mdude85 - 06-02-2005