WineBoard
Question . . . - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Bordeaux (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-18.html)
+--- Thread: Question . . . (/thread-5970.html)

- dananne - 02-01-2003

Anyone have any TNs or familiarity with Chateau Grand Mayne St. Emilion 1997? Found it on closeout at a local store for $12 -- picked up a bottle and am thinking of buying more.

Also on closeout was a Cali cab -- Bradford Mountain Headwater Vineyard Dry Creek Valley 1998 -- also for $12. Again, bought a bottle.

Any comments on either would be appreciated. My wife and I don't drink many cabs, but it's always good to have some nice ones in the house for when we entertain!

Thanks in advance!

- Drew - 02-01-2003

dananne, I have no direct experience with either wine but did a TN search over many sites for your two wines. I think the Grand Mayne is a good buy for $12 but can't find any positive notes for the Bradford Cab. It seems that in the case of the Bradford that the '98 vintage reared it's ugly head leaving a thin wine with a short finish....of course your taste is all in your mouth, so taste them before you buy more. The only thing worse than a bargain supply of bad wine is a full retail price supply of bad wine!

Bradford Mountain
1440 Grove St., HealdsburgCA, 95448
Phone: (707) 431-4455
E-mail: arosenblum@hv-w.com
Zinfandel, Cabernet Sauvignon
www.bradfordmountain.com

Drew

- hotwine - 02-01-2003

I've had the Mayne, but can't find the TN. Mutter, grumble. It's a grand cru classe, and the '97 is available at Spec's in Houston for $60.71/btl. Drink that one bottle today, to make sure it's not cooked, and if it's good, run don't walk back to that shop and buy a case. Really good deals on close-outs have the life-expectancy of a junebug on a lilly pad.

- dananne - 02-02-2003

Thanks, guys, for the advice.