WineBoard
Is there such a thing as a good Chardonnay? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: TASTING NOTES & WINE SPECIFIC FORUMS (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-200.html)
+--- Forum: Chardonnay/White Burgundy/Pinot Blanc/Melon (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-21.html)
+--- Thread: Is there such a thing as a good Chardonnay? (/thread-5688.html)

- Vivian - 08-08-2002

As a total novice trying to plan a wine tasting, for the prupose of learning the basics, I asked a wine-snob (and I say that lovingly) friend of mine to recommend several different vintages for the party. He made great suggestions for Pinot Noir, Cabernet, even Gewurzteminer (sp?), but when I asked about Chardonnay, he said he's never had a good Chardonnay. Perhaps it's just his taste, but I'm looking for other opinions. Everywhere I go, stores and restaurants seem to have tons of Chardonnay. If it's so bad, why is there so much of it?

I'd also appreciate recommendations on appetizer pairings for a Chardonnay for this wine tasting I am planning.

Thank you, and Winoweenie please be gentle! I've been reading your posts! [img]http://www.wines.com/ubb2/smile.gif[/img]

- wondersofwine - 08-08-2002