WineBoard
wine allergies - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: RESOURCES AND OTHER STUFF (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-300.html)
+--- Forum: Wine & Health (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-9.html)
+--- Thread: wine allergies (/thread-3297.html)

- momthebomb - 12-16-2001

I have been drinking Beringer White Zin for a couple of years. Sometimes I try other white wines, but mostly Zin.

The last bottle of Beringer I opened, I had about 2-3 glasses and developed a serious migraine headache within 3 hours. The next evening, I poured myself a glass from the same bottle and drank 1/2 of the glass and started to develop another headache. Do people become allergic or develop reactions to wine or do you think it was just a bad bottle?

- Bucko - 12-16-2001

Histamine is almost always the culprit in red wine headaches or allergies. Histamine is found in the skins of all grapes. Since red wines are in contact with the skins for prolonged periods, they have much more histamine content than white wines. Sneezing, facial flushing, headache, diarrhea, skin itching, and shortness of breath are common symptoms occurring in patients intolerant to histamines after drinking one glass of red wine.