State laws re: corkage - Printable Version
+- WineBoard (http://wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: RESOURCES AND OTHER STUFF (/forum-300.html)
+--- Forum: Wine and Politics (/forum-7.html)
+--- Thread: State laws re: corkage (/thread-2906.html)
- GOOSE44 - 11-06-2003 01:18 PM
I was told that in Arizona, it is against the law for a restaurant to allow a customer to bring his or her own wine. I was told the same in Missouri. Does anyone know what the law is in Kansas about bringing your own wine to a restuarant? How about in any other States. Thanks. Phil
- Auburnwine - 11-06-2003 03:51 PM
One may often find information on a state's department of revenue web site -- or by contacting the state department of revenue. For Kansas, try: http://www.ksrevenue.org/faqs-abclicensing.htm
- wondersofwine - 11-06-2003 05:53 PM
I know of restaurants in North Carolina and New York that allow it--what the law is I'm not sure. One restaurant in Charlotte, NC says that the corkage fee is $12 (goes down to $5.00 if the server is allowed a taste and $0.00 if the server is given a glass). Another says that corkage is waived on one bottle if you buy a second bottle at the restaurant. As a matter of principle, you should not bring a wine that is already on the restaurant list (same vintage, etc.). It's only fair to buy it from the restaurant if they have it on their wine list.
- Thomas - 11-06-2003 10:17 PM
I don't know the laws in all states, mainly because they vary from state to state, but I do know that some restaurants use the excuse that it is against the law for patrons to bring their own wine when in fact it is not against the law. In New York, where alcohol laws are as Byzantine as any, as long as the restaurant allows it, and whether or not it charges a fee, it is not against the law for a patron to bring the wine. But it is against the law for a patron to leave a restaurant with an opened bottle of wine.
[This message has been edited by foodie (edited 11-06-2003).]
- Auburnwine - 11-06-2003 11:17 PM
I call ahead to ask what their policy is. That can sometimes help determine my restaurant choice.
- winoweenie - 11-07-2003 07:26 AM
In Arizona the law is, like everything else concerning wine, very obtuse. If a restaurant doesn't have a liquor license it is legal to bring your bottle. If the restaurant has a license and seats less than 50(?) I think, it is OK. Not Okie-Dokie if it exceeds the seating limit. WW
By the way Goose44 welcome to the board and where-by youse be from?
[This message has been edited by winoweenie (edited 11-07-2003).]
- GOOSE44 - 11-07-2003 12:45 PM
I want to thank everyone who responded to my question about corkage in various states. Auburnwine's suggestion was very helpful. I am fortunate to live in Northern California where we have access to absolutely great deals on California wines if you know where to look. During the last year there has been an abundance of excellent wine which is great for me but bad for the industry. Phil