WineBoard
italian wine industry - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: RESOURCES AND OTHER STUFF (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-300.html)
+--- Forum: Wine and Politics (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-7.html)
+--- Thread: italian wine industry (/thread-2866.html)

- jeffkendig - 10-11-1999

I'm a student at Middlebury College and I was wondering if anyone has any information on the changes in Italian wine in recent years. Specifically with regard to the DOC and DOCG and how italian wine used to be regarded almost as a joke but is now accepted worldwide as some of the best wine. Also, how "vino da tavola" was once the best wine you could get in italy due to the govt. restrictions on the industry. Does anyone know anything about this topic or know where I can find some useful information about it? Thanks.

- Jason - 10-13-1999

You're opening a huge can of worms with the DOCGs. The Italian government can't even decide what the official list is.
There have been great changes to their industry, but most of it has been the govt. catching up with what the vintners were already doing.
Vino de Tavola is not always great stuff its just the place where the rebels had to run before the feds changed their rules.
You're into a very large subject here. Give us some specific questions and we'll do our best.

- jeffkendig - 10-14-1999

When did the govt. implement the DOC? And then when did it start the DOCG? I need a little bit of basic history on the govt. regulation. I know vino da tavola is no longer the best. However, for a number of years, it WAS considered excellent. Then the govt. changed their rules and the vino da tavola became govt. regulated and so raised its price. Also, where do the super-tuscans fit into this whole thing? Thanks for the help. I appreciate it.

- Jason - 10-14-1999