WineBoard
Vintage Walla Walla - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: RESOURCES AND OTHER STUFF (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-300.html)
+--- Forum: Wine Events & Festivals (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-6.html)
+--- Thread: Vintage Walla Walla (/thread-2396.html)

- Grape Stuff - 06-02-2003

My wife and I attended this event this past weekend in Walla Walla Washington. It was a tasting event limited to 300 people, with nearly every winery in the Walla Walla valley pouring something new and something old (relatively speaking). They had some nice cheeses, and music, and an auction at the end.

Granted I'm somewhat new to this, and I think most of the producers were brining out their best stuff, but I was really impressed with the overall quality.

Some of the standouts as follows:

2000 Spring Valley Vineyards - Uriah. A blend of 60% Merlot, 34% Can Franc, and the rest Petite Verdot. This was oh so good, an incredible burst of flavor and a changing finish that kept on going & going.

1996 Le Cole #41 Columbia Valley Cabernet - Very smooth

1995 Leonetti Cabernet - I was really trying to find the tons of oak Bucko, but I guess my pallet is still evolving. I really enjoyed this wine. It was incredibly soft, and velvety, with a ton of different flavors, and the lingering flavors would not leave my mouth.

Cougar Crest - they had a new Cab and a Viognier. Both were stand out, especially the Viognier. I think this is my new (well, maybe my only )favorite white. Huge flavors, and nice and full.

Anyway, we had a great time!

- Innkeeper - 06-02-2003

Sounds like a great weekend. Wish we lived in wine country!

- winoweenie - 06-02-2003