WineBoard
How long wine lasts in the bottle - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: How long wine lasts in the bottle (/thread-19672.html)

- okvino - 06-25-2004

Good day:

I'm new to this. A friend wants to buy a bottle of wine to give her granddaughter on her 21st birthday, some 20 1/2 years from now. What kind of wine(s) in the $20 range would still be drinkable in 20 years and how should they be stored. I would appreciate any info on this topic. Thanks for reading this and/or providing any information.
okvino

- wondersofwine - 06-25-2004

Welcome to the wine board. Come back often.
Your friend might have more luck spending a little more and buying a 10-year Tawny Port ($25-$30) or a Barolo or classified growth of red Bordeaux or Hermitage, etc. Even then, except for the fortifed wines such as Port, Sherry, Madeira, its not guaranteed that the wine will be drinkable in 20 years. The wine should be store on its side (to keep the cork moist)at about 55 degrees F. with some humidity and not subjected to a lot of vibration, moving around or strong light. (I have less than ideal storage conditions myself, no wine cellar or cooling unit, so try to keep them at 70 degrees or less which means they may mature more rapidly than they would in a true cellar condition and may deteriorate sooner as well.)

[This message has been edited by wondersofwine (edited 06-25-2004).]

- Brom - 06-25-2004

"10-year Tawny Port"

Do you really think this is a wine to keep for 20 years?

- chittychattykathy - 06-25-2004

I would go with a vintage port over aged if you do port-- I suggest you buy a really nice ice wine.

- dandy_don - 06-26-2004