WineBoard
advice on budget red to store - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: advice on budget red to store (/thread-19646.html)

- rvoller - 05-05-2004

I recently went to a local vineyard and bought a bottle of red. I was told there if I wait and store the wine for a couple of years it will taste better. So im just looking at it wondering what it tastes like. This gave me an idea of visiting a wineshop/supermarket and storing several budget bottles of red (£5-7). Im curious of what the outcome will be. Im no wine expert but starting to experiment with my taste buds. Can I pick and choose any bottle of red and store or are there any general rules to follow like specific grapes/regions etc.? My favorite grapes are rioja, merlot and carbenate sauvigon/shiraz so far from my limited experience as a wine drinker and would like to mature these?. I dont want to find out after a couple of years a made the wrong mistake from my naivety. Thanks for the advice.

------------------
Roger

- winoweenie - 05-05-2004

Hi rvoller and welcome to the board. Most wines will age for a couple of years but the majority are made for current consumption and the improvement in these will be from small to negligible. You need to get to know a good wineshop owner who can help you in your experimenting. Just because it's red doesn't mean it will age aand the ones in the price range you are looking at could deteriorate. WW

- chittychattykathy - 05-05-2004

Quickie side note;
Rioja is a region in Spain not a varietal.