WineBoard
Extreme Novice - need a little help - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Extreme Novice - need a little help (/thread-19484.html)

- Therant - 03-05-2005

Hello all. I am very new to wine. I literally had my first taste of wine 2 weeks ago. I tried a pinot noir by Vendange. It was awful. It was very bitter and not at all what I was looking for. I'm wondering if anyone can help me find a really good sweet wine? What is the sweetest inexpensive wine out there? I really hope to find a fruity sweet wine for evening drinks. A friend suggested a merlot, but I thought merlot was drier than pinot. I pretty much plan to have the wine alone, and maybe occasionally when I eat out Italian. Any help will be very appreciated.

- wondersofwine - 03-05-2005

Welcome to the board. For wine in Italian restaurants you might try Valpolicella or Lambrusco (both red fruity wines). The Lambrusco is usually made to be somewhat sweet and bubbly. Most red wines are made as dry wines, but sometimes the ripe fruit gives the impression of sweetness. Vendange is an inexpensive grocery store brand. For Pinot Noir you might look for Saintsbury Garnet to try (under $20) or Steele Carneros Pinot Noir (around $25 sometimes in the store but $18 at the winery--also sometimes available in a half-bottle, 375 ml., for under $10).