WineBoard
Sweet Wines - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Sweet Wines (/thread-19468.html)

- Gator - 11-06-2007

I'm new to wines, but interested in particular taste. I would like to know what wines have a sweet taste to them and not bitter. The only wine that I have tried, is the wild vines (zinfandel). I want something similar in test. can someone send me in the right direction on how do you determine the different tastes

- Innkeeper - 11-06-2007

Hi Gator, and welcome to the Wine Board. One of the best taste instructors I know of is Andrea Immer Robinson. Her book "Great Wines Made Simple" makes this an easy and enjoyable task. It is widely available in hard and paperback, new and used.

For white wine both Riesling and Chenin Blanc come in various shades of sweet. For reds the Italian Lambrusco is most easily found. Ask your retailer to guide you through selections of these.

You local wineries in Maryland, PA, and VA all offer wines in various levels of sweetness. Visit some of these to check out your palate.

- Jackie - 11-06-2007

Do you like reds or whites?? Sweet reds are a bit harder to find, but if you like sweet whites, try a Riesling [Reez-ling]. Look for a Johannisburg Riesling and/or a Late Harvest Riesling, the latter being the sweeter of the two. (The term "late harvest" refers to wines made from grapes left on the vine longer than usual, allowing more sugar to develop inside the grapes so they produce sweeter wine.)