WineBoard
Icewine??? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Icewine??? (/thread-19459.html)

- ls1216 - 12-16-2004

A while ago I had dinner at a rest. called StarCanyon in Dallas. I was ordered a glass of wine and it was the best I have ever had. It was very sweet, very expensive by the glass. I had thought I was told it was called Icy Vine. Now looking on here I see there is something called Ice Wine. So I am assuming that's what I had that night. Can't you tell I'm new at this. lol So I am interested in finding what I had or wanting some opinions on some good Ice Wines to try. Any suggestions???
P.S. What's the difference between an Ice Wine and a Desert Wine?
Dallas-

- Thomas - 12-16-2004

Dallas,

An ice wine is a dessert wine, just one that is produced in a particular way.

In brief: in certain years, when certain weather conditions exist, grapes are allowed to stay on the vine until frost settles on the already dried up grapes to encase them in ice. They are handpicked--extremely carefully and at a proscribed outdoor temperature--and then processed into what becomes an intensely sweet wine.

Because of their low juice to grape ratio, and the extreme labor involved, ice wines are not cheap. And because of the weather restrictions placed on their production, they are generally not produced every year.

As to which ice wines to recommend--I'll leave that to someone else.

- winoweenie - 12-16-2004

Hi Dallas and welcome to the board. Most of the great Ice Wines of the world are made in Germany (Eisweins). You can almost pick them blindfolded as they are superb almost across the board. As Foodie said they are extremely cost intensive to produce and very expensive. Find a good retailor and they can help you. WW

- Kcwhippet - 12-16-2004