WineBoard
Older wine - is it any good? HELP! - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Older wine - is it any good? HELP! (/thread-19301.html)

- jfishel - 02-05-2005

Hi there! I have a 1974 Barolo and I was wondering if it is drinkable and what the value might be. It was bottled in Italy by Poderi Scanavino Giovanni and imported by Joseph Victori Wines of Brooklyn. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks Much!

- Innkeeper - 02-05-2005

A lot depends on how it has been stored over the years. As we frequently say around, the only way to know is to pop it. If you do, decant it very carefully.

- jfishel - 02-06-2005

Thanks! What do you mean by decant very carefully??? I am very new to this!! Any chance this wine has value?

- Innkeeper - 02-06-2005

Decanting in this case is because a wine that old will have a lot of sediment in the bottom. Particularly a Barolo. Set the bottle upright for a day before drinking. Then open very carefully without shaking the bottle if possible. Pour it into another vessel similar in shape to a wine bottle. Empty Almaden bottles work great as decanters. As soon a sediment appears in the neck stop pouring. If you want to save the little bit in the bottom, run it through a coffee filter.

Don't really know for sure if the wine is any good, much less how much value it has.

[This message has been edited by Innkeeper (edited 02-06-2005).]

- hotwine - 02-06-2005

What Innkeeper meant to say was "Open it very carefully without shaking the bottle". You don't want to disturb the sediment, which would give the wine a bitter taste. Pouring it gently will allow the sediment to remain in the bottle and avoid stirring it back up into the wine.