WineBoard
I am very new to the wine world and.... - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: I am very new to the wine world and.... (/thread-19100.html)

Pages: 1 2

- miime - 12-18-2003

I am new to the wine world and I was wondering if there are any good sweet red wines? I mean I don't like the dry white wine at all. For some reason the dryness is not a good taste for me. So I figured I would lean toward the red wines; wines with a fuller taste. I am trying to avoid the tartness that I have commonly came across in tasting wine. My interest sparks from articles that I have seen about wine being somewhat of a healthy drink for a person. I also understand that red wine has a tendency to relax you. One last thing I don't necessarily want a dinner wine, but a wine that can stand alone, if I so choose. Any help for my dilemma would be greatly appreciated!

- sedhead - 12-18-2003

Miime
Welcome
I guess I'm the first one up this morning so I'll leave the details to the Moderator Innkeeper or more experienced wine drinkers here.
They will need to know how sweet you like your wines. There are many German white wines that you may like that are not considered "sweet" but are very accessible.
They may also want to know if you want a dessert wine or after dinner wine.
IMHO I do not believe it's a good idea to start drinking wine just because they may be some health benifits to wine. But it is always good to try something new.

- John Moore - 12-18-2003

Hi! Miime,
I think I have the perfect wine for you.