WineBoard
brand spankin' new - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: brand spankin' new (/thread-19065.html)

- jtslammin - 10-29-2003

I'm brand new to the wine world. I've tried a some red and white courtesy of KLM airlines while flying overseas...but that's the extent. I'd like advice on where to start with a price range of $30 - $100.

- Innkeeper - 10-29-2003

Hi JT and welcome to the Wine Board. There is no need to start at those price points, no matter how well heeled you are. If you flew first class, perhaps KLM could tell you what they served. If you have any idea anyway, a reputable wine shop in any urban area in your neck of the woods should be able to help you.

If we were going to start all over again, for reds we would start with one of the so-called Cru Beaujolais. Right now we are enjoying one called Fleurie from the 2002 vintage. We think the easiest white to start with is the Italian called Verdicchio, Dei Castelli Di Jesi, Classico. The ones in the teens are really better than the ones in single digits. Don't worry about the length of the names of Italian Wines; they all will tell you a lot of information in time.

- Brom - 10-30-2003

Actually I am curious as to why you would want to begin by buying and trying wines that are so expensive. Any particular reason?

- jtslammin - 10-30-2003

Notes on price: I was informed the difference in price would mean the difference in quality. If I'm just completely wrong someone please make my day and explain to me that a cheaper wine is better.

- Innkeeper - 10-30-2003

At the price points you were suggesting most of the wines, unless you were lucky enough to find some old ones, will have to be aged for five, ten, or even fifteen years before they reach their peak.