WineBoard
HELP!!!! - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: HELP!!!! (/thread-18976.html)

- smichelle212003 - 01-16-2005

Hello everyone. I work at a place in Colorado called Elk Mountain Resort (maybe you have heard of it?). We are fairly new and are trying to achieve our five star five star diamond rating. I am really trying to learn about our wines so that I have the knowledge to tell a guest a good wine with their meal and other such things. I am a total beginner and am looking for help. I really want and need to learn, so if interested, let me know. Thank you so much!

- TheEngineer - 01-16-2005

A warm welcome from a fellow newbie. The people on this site are really nice and I'm sure you will learn a lot form them. A few things though before my $0.02.

First, as with any forum, you can learn a lot just by reading all the post that have already been posted. If you have not done this, there is a wealth of information already for you.

Also, any place that is trying to be five star rated must have some sort of training program in place for employees who need to work with wine. Nothing beats being in front of people who know wine and having them walk/train you with tastings.

A book like the Wine Bible is a great way to learn too, but this must be supplimented by tasting. The difference I see here is that you are doing this for a job. If you really want to get your feet wet, you can go to local wineries/wine shops when they have tastings and see if they can walk you through it. Buy a few bottles and learn them at home......might become a new hobby too!