WineBoard
Too many flavors & no clue!!! - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Too many flavors & no clue!!! (/thread-18961.html)

- curlyq - 06-05-2000

I am a TRUE wine novice in need of desperate help!!! I just want to find a place or someone that can educate me on what is sweet and what wines are the dry wines. I have figured out at this point that dry=bitter. So I just want to figure out the flavors, so when I go to the Wine Bar, I can order & sound inteligent... Please help me out!!! or at least tell me where to go for help.

- mrdutton - 06-05-2000

Dry does not necessarily mean bitter - and bitter and sweet can be present in the same concoction.

I'd like to suggest that you visit your local Barnes & Nobel bookstore. Check-out their section of books on wine.

One that helped me quite a bit was the "Larousse Encyclopedia of Wine". Another possible reference, if you are not offended by the title, is "Wine for Dummies". Some people have said it is informative. I have flipped through the book and it did have a lot of good information. I did not buy it. (Nor did I buy the "Larousse", it was a gift.)

If you have the time, pull several books off of the shelves and page through them while you are in the book store. Heck, you don't even really have to purchase a book at all if you are just browsing!

[This message has been edited by mrdutton (edited 06-05-2000).]

- hotwine - 06-05-2000

Good advice from MrD. I would add a couple of suggestions:
- Pick up a couple of wine magazines at your bookstore; Food & Wine, and Wine Spectator come to mind.
- Thoroughly explore this Board, and pay particular attention to the forums on the different types of wines. You'll find a number of tasting notes there, that will describe the tastes and aromas of different wines.