WineBoard
Loire Valley Red Wines - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Loire Valley Red Wines (/thread-18929.html)

- ejg723 - 03-21-2000

I am a novice with wine. I recently took a trip to France and had a bottle of wine in Paris that I loved. It is not an expensive wine or "top of the line" but I enjoyed it and am trying to buy it in the US. The wine is "Saumur Champigny" and is a red wine from the Loire Valley. My research reveals that this region of France is famous for its white wines and champagne, and not their red wines. I have tried to order the wine from a wine shop in manhattan and the store told me that the "domain" does not export here. Does anyone have any ideas as to how I could obtain this wine (preferably 1996 vintage). Thank you in advance for any responses.

- Innkeeper - 03-21-2000

You can get a 1998 Saumur, Grand Reserve, by M. Bonnamy, from Pops Wines, 256 Long Beach Road, Island Park, NY 11558, Tel: (516) 431-0025, or www.popswine.com . The price is $6.88 per bottle at the case rate.

- Randy Caparoso - 03-21-2000

Although Saumur is known for its "mousseaux" (sparkling wine vinified from the Chenin Blanc grape), and Saumur-Champigny can be a still white wine, the vast majority of wines bottled under the latter appellation are reds vinified from the Cabernet Franc grape.

Saumur-Champigny is not often seen in the U.S. because importers, retailers and restaurateurs alike think of it as a thin, tart, lean tasting wine. Indeed, in Paris --where it is still highly fashionable (often drunk on-the-rocks) -- it is known, and sold as, the "Beaujolais of the Loire." In the U.S., alas, purveyors would much prefer sell Beaujolais.