WineBoard
Wine choice for a romantic evening - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Wine choice for a romantic evening (/thread-18705.html)

- brbeck936 - 12-30-2004

I am brand new to wines. My wife and I are taking a weekend trip and I would like to surprise her with a nice bottle of wine or champagne. I have no idea what to choose...red or white, etc. This wine will be consumed well after dinner. Also, there are no stores to buy wine from in my area, other than the grocery store. HELP!!!

- Innkeeper - 12-30-2004

Hi Brbeck, and welcome to the Wine Board. Go to the grocery store and look for the Sparkling Wine (bubbly) section. Hopefully they will have a Spanish Cava. If not check what do have at a price you can afford. "Brut" is bone dry. "Extra Dry" means off dry. You are just going to have to take my word on this. Somehow, get the bottle ice cold before opening.

- brbeck936 - 12-30-2004

OK...what does dry and off-dry refer to? Which would be the better choice? My wife does like to drink wine, however it is very socially. I know that the grocery store has a pretty large selection of wines, but only about three brands of sparkling (bubbly). Thanks!

- Drew - 12-30-2004

IK's right on with the bubbly and for an added extra look for Bonny Doon Framboise. A delicious raspberry liquor at around $12. Serve with the bubbly and chocolate and you'll be a "lucky" guy. Below is the link for the Framboise. BTW, extra dry is sweeter than Brut. What are your choices from the store re. to sparkling/champagne?

Drew

http://www.bonnydoonvineyard.com/wine/view/61

[This message has been edited by Drew (edited 12-30-2004).]

- brbeck936 - 12-30-2004