WineBoard
Please help me out - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Please help me out (/thread-18652.html)

- Machforce1 - 01-08-2002

Like many other fellow wine drinkers, I am very new to the world of wines. Just a month ago I didn't think there was much to choosing and drinking a wine, however, I have discovered that nothing could be further from the truth. As I try to absorb information at an astronomical rate, I am finding that wine is a much more complex subject than I ever gave it credit for being. Shame on me.

Anyway, thanks for taking the time to read my question. I hope I don't become annoying to you all, but I admit, I have many questions. I apologize in advance as some or all of my questions may annoy members as they will probably be basic and simplistic inquires which may have been covered a thousand times here. Again, I apologize. I am certainly not here to annoy anyone. I just want to learn as much as I can.

Okay, so far I've tried several Merlots, Red Zinfandels, and ports. I must say that my favorite so far has been Fonseca's 20 year old tawny port. I thought that it was absolutely fantastic. Of the Merlots that I've tried, I can honestly say I haven't liked any of them. I can't remember the names of all of them, but I do know that one of them was Kendall Jackson. I know that isn't much help. But the bottom line is that I wasn't impressed with the Merlots I've tried so far. There is something about them that just doesn't do it for me. I have discovered that I like fruity wines, but with body. The light, crisp wines are good too, but I do like a wine with body. I guess that explains my taste for tawny port. I just bought a bottle of Cline 1999 Red Zin and I'm also going to try the 2001 Duboeuf Nouveau. I hear these are fruity wines.