WineBoard
Label reading? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Label reading? (/thread-18525.html)

- astonv0l - 04-06-2003

Will the label on a bottle of wine show that it will be dry? will there be a special phrase or name used, I'm not a big fan of dry wines but I'm still learning so I am sure dry's would go with some food but until I develope my pallet, I'm going to play safe for now :-]

- stevebody - 04-06-2003

With most "still" wines - those not sparkling - assume they're dry unless it's clearly stated on the bottle that it's not. You'll seldom find a non-French wine that has any sugar content to speak of that doesn't say so on the label.

Problem is HOW it's said on that label. In French winespeak, you'll sometimes see the words "demi-sec" on a bottle of still wine, even though that term is usually used only for sparkling wines. I've seen the term "off dry" a couple of times, too. Unless it's a dessert wine, the frank staement "sweet" seldom ever appears on a label. On New World wines (those from this side of the Atlantic, including Australia) reading the back label sometimes will let you know if it's a little (or a lot) sweet. Don't worry: wineries sneaking a sweet wine into an unmarked bottle is pretty rare. I've only had it happen once in the past twenty years, with a Sine Anne Oregon Pinot Gris that was distinctly off-dry without noting it on the bottle.

Makers of sweet wines present them as something that clearly means sweet. "Late Harvest" will nearly always be a wine that's pretty sweet. "Ice Wine" or the Germanic "Eiswein" will be very sweet. Muscat or moscato, in its many variations, is almost always nicely off-dry, UNLESS it says "dry" on the bottle. Muscat is such a fabulous package of aromas and flavors in its sweet state that it's not fermented dry often.