WineBoard
Help... I'm a Newbie - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Help... I'm a Newbie (/thread-18512.html)

- Oregonia - 11-23-2001

Hi, I am a newbie to wines.
I tend to lean toward sweeter wines such as Reisling and Zinfandels... but I also enjoy the semi-dry. Any suggestions?
Are there any good reds that aren't so sharp?
I've been a long time beer drinker (micros of course)and am trying to broaden my horizons. [img]http://www.wines.com/ubb2/smile.gif[/img]
Thanks!!

- Innkeeper - 11-23-2001

Hi Oregonia, and welcome to the Wine Board. Now is a great time to get into Beaujolais. Last week the '01 Beaujolais Nouveau was released. It is excellent, and fruit bomb with the allusion of sweetness. The 2000 plain ole Beaujolais, Beaujolais Village, and Cru Beaujolais are among the best of these vintages in many years. Ask your wine dealer about the Crus. They don't have the word Beaujolais on the label; but have names like Morgon, and Moulin A Vent.

- Thomas - 11-23-2001

and don't get stuck on thinking that Riesling and Zinfandel are sweet wines: wines are produced either sweet or dry by the winemaker; sweetness or dryness is not identified by grape names, which Riesling and Zinfandel are.

- Oregonia - 11-23-2001

Thanks! I really appreciate it... I'm totally lost when I try to read about wines ... ugh. I'm not familiar with the terminology.
I have another question... what does acidity mean in wines? Does it give it a bigger bite? How is that measured? OR How would I know which wines are smoother? I've had some bad luck with some wines that tasted like vinegar. Are some supposed to taste like vinegar? I appreciate any help that you can give me!!
Thanks!!

- Innkeeper - 11-23-2001