WineBoard
ATTENTION WINE HISTORY PEOPLE!!!!!! - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: ATTENTION WINE HISTORY PEOPLE!!!!!! (/thread-18460.html)

Pages: 1 2

- mfm130@psu.edu - 04-23-2000

Hello Team,
I am a student at the Pennsylvannia State University. I am enrolled in a Wine Tasting class and have a major project due on Thursday April 27. I have a few questions that I can not answer and so I am asking for everyones help in getting an A on my Project. Here are the Questions:
1. Identify the first five Growth Chateaus as listed by the official Classification of 1855.

2. Identify the specific region in France that produces the most famous Dessert Wine in the world.( I know the name of the region is the name of the wine)

3. Name the French Chateau that produces the best and most expensive wine in the above question.

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated. Please e-mail me personally with any information that you can give me. My e-mail is: mfm130@psu.edu

Thank you all once again,
Matthew Martin

- Drew - 04-23-2000

Here goes Matthew....I feel like I'm back in school again with your questions.
1. The first five growth or "Premier Crus" Chateaus are:
1. Chateau Lafite-Rothschild, Pauillac
2. Chateau Latour, Pauillac
3. Chateau Margaux, Margaux
4. Chateau Haut-Brion Pessac,Graves
5. Chateau Mouton-Rothschild (became a first growth in 1973), Pauillac

2. Sauternes

3. All of the first growths are expensive,and tasty, but the answer their probably looking for is Chateau Lafite-Rothschild. I'm no expert on this third question...mabey some of our more learned wine friends can add to my answers.
GOOD LUCK IN YOUR WINE CLASS!

- Kcwhippet - 04-24-2000

I believe the most expensive may be Ch. Petrus.

- Thomas - 04-24-2000