WineBoard
where do i learn more about wines - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: where do i learn more about wines (/thread-18336.html)

- keithbgolfin - 05-30-2005

Hello i am new to the wines bussness and i was wondering where i can go to learn more about wines. Which wines are the best and how to tell the difgference

- hotwine - 05-31-2005

You say you're new to the wine business? Are you in retail? Or are you simply new to wines?

In general, suggest you read as much as you can about wines, and taste, taste, taste. Make notes on those you like and those you dislike. Attend tasting events in your area, or visit wineries if there are any near you. And taste, taste, taste.

- wondersofwine - 05-31-2005

Some recommended books that people on the board have found helpful: Andrea Immer's "Great Wines Made Simple," "The Wine Bible," and "Wine for Dummies." All will help you learn the basics and answer many of your questions about wine.

- wineguruchgo - 05-31-2005

Hi Keith,

Welcome to the wineboard.

Ok - lots to learn here. The books that are mentioned are a great resource. The internet will also be your friend here. Many wineries have their own websites and you can look or download the fact sheets.

Also, if you are a member of Netflix or any of the other DVD mailorder movie sites you can search the word "wine". There are several DVD's out there that are pretty good.

Lastly, use this site. You will see on the main page that almost all wines are broken down by varietal. There are a lot of tasting notes available.

See http://wines.com/wine_education.html

Or go to the WINES.COM homepage and click on "Learn About Wine".

[Edited by Wines.com webmaster]

[This message has been edited by Jackie (edited 05-31-2005).]

- hotwine - 05-31-2005