WineBoard
Any suggestions? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Any suggestions? (/thread-18272.html)

- greener - 12-15-2003

Hi All,

I'm new to wine and wines.com. With sooooooo many wines out there to choose from, I need some help narrowing down the choices. I like white fruity wines like Ballatore, although I'm not real crazy about the bubbles. What would be a good fruity wine, without bubbles? I like sweet wines also like riesling. Had some eiswine this weekend and it was great although perhaps a little too sweet. Any white fruity to sweet an fruity wine suggestions?

- White Wine Lover - 12-15-2003

I'm a novice, too, but it just so happens, that based on a recommendation from this board, I tried a wine last night that sounds like you might like it, based on what you said in your posting. It's called a Gewurztraminer, and the one I had was a Washington state wine. It was, to me, a bit sweet and reminded me of a Riesling, although there was, in addition to a citrus taste, also a bit of spice? Wait for Innkeeper and some of the other really experienced wine tasters to reply. I wish I could describe wine like Innkeeper does! I'll just keep on tasting.... [img]http://38.118.142.245/ubb2/smile.gif[/img]

- wineguruchgo - 12-15-2003

Hello Greener,

Welcome!

I agree with White Wine Lover about the Rieslings and Gewurtztraminers from Washington State. Chateau Ste. Michelle makes a wonderful Riesling that is affordable, although most German wines are affordable as well.

If you are looking for something a little tropical, try Sauvignon Blanc. This wine will taste like fresh mangos although it will finish dry. Perfect with food (cheeses).

If you want a wine with a little drier finish try the Rieslings and Gewurtztraminers from the Alsace region of France.

Hope this helps you.