WineBoard
Getting Started With Wine - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Getting Started With Wine (/thread-18236.html)

- Wine in a Can - 03-21-2007

Hello Wine.com community!

Well this is my first post and I'd appreciate any help if you might be able to offer.

I have been working in France for a few months now and have been gradually getting turned onto wine more and more. The problem is my good wine experiences are always when a coworker has picked out a bottle, but when I go to the market to get a bottle for myself the taste never seems to be as good. The answer is obvious, I don't know anything about wine!

So what would you experts suggest for getting into buying wine? I've been usually just buying bottles that have the most units removed from the shelf since that seems to be a decent indication if they are at all popular; but I'd like to know what I'm looking at here!

Thanks for your time.

- hotwine - 03-21-2007

Welcome to the board. You're in a wonderful location to learn about wine! If you're in Paris, suggest you visit some wine bars and taste, taste, taste. Take a small notebook with you so you can make notes of the wines you like and don't like. If you're in another city or the countryside, ask about the local wines, and taste those. Do the same - taste and make notes. You'll learn quickly. Remember, when tasting, you don't need to swallow.... so you can keep a clear head by using a spit bucket. Hook up with a co-worker who likes wine and who's willing to teach you. And have fun!

- wondersofwine - 03-21-2007