WineBoard
Total wine drinking newbie.... - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Total wine drinking newbie.... (/thread-18171.html)

- zeusabj - 06-24-2003

Hello everyone!

As my subject line implies I'm fairly new to the world of wine! I've recently taken to trying a different wine every time I go to a nice restaurant with my wife and am truly beginning to develop an affinity for it. However I've run into a bit of bad luck when it comes to buying wine by the bottle.

I tend to get eager to try a particular variety, purchase it, then (more often than not) once I get home and taste it I find that particular variety is simply not be for me and wind up pouring the whole bottle down the sink in disgust! Needless to say this is a rather poor method of finding out which wines suite my taste buds the best! I'm hoping that some of the “more experienced” wine drinkers here can recommend a few better ones for me to try.

Of the few wines I've tasted I seem to prefer lighter wines to dark reds but I'd really appreciate it if anyone can recommend a red that will suit my palette. To give you an idea about the tastes I prefer so far I’ve found that these two are my favorites:

Chateau St. Michelle Johannesburg Riesling
Ernest & Julio Gallo Twin Valley White Zinfandel

In my search for a good red I have found two that I consider to be “okay” but I’m certain there is another red out there that will suit me better. The two I currently buy are:

Rosemont Estate Diamond Shiraz
Bellagio Chianti (Not sure if this is the correct name but it comes in a wicker flask)