WineBoard
Oregon Wines!!!! Opinions Please! - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Oregon Wines!!!! Opinions Please! (/thread-18094.html)

- sweetirish - 12-28-2000

I am fairly new to wines and have asked recently about sweet reds. I also am looking for some sweet Oregon wines ( any variety )..As I mentioned before, I love dessert wines but am looking for new wines to try dinner and also to send to friends in other parts of the US. They are showing an interest in the growing Oregon wine industry and want me to send them some sweeter wines. Calling all opinions!!!!!=-)

Also, could some of you help me understand the industry in Oregon?? If I understand correctly, Oregon is doing fairly well with Pinots but I don't know much else...HELP!

- barnesy - 12-28-2000

As far as Oregon red sweets, Chateau Lorane has a late harvest Marechal Foch that is nice. Giradett produces a late harvest de chenauc that is also very good. Oregon, in particular, the Willamette valley is suited to pinot noir and its white counterpart, chardonnay. Both are grown in abundance in Oregon. There are less cabs in the WV section but there are some in the southern appellations: rogue and umpqua. Oregon wineries, from what I've seen, seem to like to experiment a bit. You will see some rare and unusual varietals. I am sure Bucko and CCK, who are much, MUCH more experianced Northwest wine drinkers can give you some more information.

Barnesy

- Bucko - 12-28-2000

Actually I taste very few dessert-styled wines from OR. I taste many more from WA. Here are a few with some sweetness.....

1999 Girardet, Riesling, Estate, Umpqua Valley, $7. In contrast to the 98, this wine has peach and apricot aromas and flavors, finishing with light acidity and sweetness.