WineBoard
Wine and vineyards - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Wine and vineyards (/thread-17974.html)

- Newbie23 - 06-29-2005

Hello! As you can tell by my username, I'm pretty new at this and had a few questions. I've been reading articles and using this web site for a few weeks now trying to gather information for trying new wines. I always loved sweet drinks like pina coladas and Asti Spumante really but wanted to get into wines. My first and favorite has been the white zinfandel, I hated merlot and didn’t really care for Pinot Noir. I tried the Beaujolais villages and although I liked it better then the other two it was still too bitter then what I’m ready for. I decided to switch colors and got a Pinot Gridio, it had a much different taste then the reds but I still didn’t love it. Based on what I’ve tried, liked and disliked I’m hoping someone can steer me in the right direction! My husbands getting mad that I keep buying bottles of wine that I don’t really like! Also, I thought a good way to find out what I like would be to go to a wine tasting. I live in Southern Maine so I don’t really know if there is an abundance of choices. If someone has a suggestion of a winery or maybe a restaurant that does wine tasting I’d really love to learn more! Thank you so much!!!

- Innkeeper - 06-29-2005

Hi Newbie, and welcome to the Wine Board. We just moved from Searsport, ME; but don't know offhand of stores in your area. If you can get to Portland, there are stores there with regular tastings. Miranda's in the Portland Market is excellent, and the folks there are helpful whether they are having a tasting or not.