WineBoard
Medium Fruity Red anyone? - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Medium Fruity Red anyone? (/thread-17962.html)

- Andy - 04-16-2002

Hi,

I'm relatively new to wine, although i have dabbled with german whites i now find myself wanting to drink red wine as a more healthy choice over spirits, beers etc.

I have discovered (pretty much haphazardly) that i do not like strong reds with tanins. I feel they are too overpowering, and the acid, vinegary aftertaste frankly, makes me shudder!
I was getting cheesed off with trying different reds and paying through the nose for my 'research', so i tried an ASDA cheapie called Hidden Vineyards. This was the 2nd cheapest red they sold @ £1.95 per bottle.

It is described as 'A deliciously juicy medium red British wine with aromas of cherry and blackcurrant'.
It has 8.5% alc/vol content.

Now, i actually enjoy this wine...it is very light, and no acidic or tanin type sharp aftertastes, just a fruity cherry-ish flavour that lingers for a few seconds...very nice.

Apologies, i appear to be writing a novel...
But my question is this: Is anyone familiar with this wine? And can you recommend any similar wines that i can purchace on my upcoming trip to the wine warehouses of france (eurotunnel trip tomorrow)?

I can't give any more info on this wine..as i can't find any, even after trawling the internet. I don't even know the grape involved.

Thanks go to anyone that helps.

Regards,

Andy.

- Innkeeper - 04-16-2002