WineBoard
New to wine - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: New to wine (/thread-17839.html)

- DoC - 01-01-2004

Hi to everyone here,
I say I am new to wine, in reality I have been drinking red wine for a few years now and have some idea of what I like and don't like but not much knowledge about it. My question is about aging wine, how do I know which wines are suitable for aging and not? I am registered blind though I can read with magnifiers etc.. but it does mean that scouring shelves and looking at labels can be difficult!

- Drew - 01-01-2004

Welcome, DoC. Most wines benifit from some short term aging, IMHO, couple of months to a couple of years just to allow the wine to rest and come together. Sort of like letting a soup or stew set in the fridge for a day or two, much better. Aside from that it's kinda like an intelligent crap shoot. Certain producers make long term aging wines and have good reputations as such. Also, do you like aged wines and at what stage in their aging? Personnaly I like my wines on the youthful side and it's fun for me to follow a wines transformation over a period of time so I always buy at least several of each type of wine that I purchase. Others more experienced than me will weigh in on this subject as it's an often asked question with no real definitive answer. Plain and simple, drink what you like and experiment. Your palate, brain and heart will lead you on the right path.

There is one producer that prints wine lables in Braille and others will, no doubt, follow suit. Of course that doesn't help trying to scour the aisles of most wine shops. Try to establish a good relationship with a good wine shop who can help you selecting wines.

Wine Labels In Braille
by Kate George