WineBoard
A Few Chardonnay Questions - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: A Few Chardonnay Questions (/thread-17799.html)

- cheeps - 03-15-2004

I wasn't sure if I should post this under the varietal threads, but since I'm a novice, I decided to post it here.

I have purchased bottles of various types of wine from different producers and countries to compare the different styles, etc.

At a recent wine tasting I tried an expensive (in my book!) Chardonnay. It was the first time I tasted this type of wine, and I liked the vanilla and "toasty carmel" taste it had so I bought a bottle. It was Chateau Ste Michelle 2001 Indian Wells Vineyard, Columbia Valley. I also have a CA Chardonnay by Bogle from 2000, an inexpensive one from NZ - Lindemans Bin #65 from 2003, and I bought a white burgundy from France, Mâcon-Villages 2001.

I opened the Chateau Ste Michelle Saturday and I hated it! I don't understand what happened because I tasted it at the wine tasting and I liked it then. It was the 3rd wine in the tasting so maybe the others I had first influenced my taste? The bottom line is that I really did not like that rich "buttery" taste on the back of my tongue and in the back of my throat - I literally felt like I was drinking oily melted butter - it was the texture and "thickness" that I didn't like more than the actual taste.

So now I'm concerned that I have 3 unopened bottles of wine I'm going to hate since the taste and texture I don't care for is what makes a Chardonnay. I'm assuming, maybe wrongly, that the CA one from Bogle will be similar to the one I tasted, which I think is from Washington or Oregon. Will the Lindemans from NZ and the French White Burgundy have the same qualities?