WineBoard
Looking for sweet wine - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Looking for sweet wine (/thread-17761.html)

- mannaserve - 04-07-2000

I'm new to this wine business. Have not drank alcohol at all, but doc says wine may help my cholesteral issue, and I've read other things on the health benefits. Unfortunately, and I'm sure I'm in the minority here, I just don't like the taste of most wines. I remember years ago tasting a wine that tasted a lot like "soda pop" with just a little "zing" to it. I'm looking for a sweet wine. Any suggestions?

- jessie - 04-07-2000

I recently started drinking/appreciating wine, and the first one I tried was a California Gewurtztraminer - I can't recall the winery, but it was actually called a "New Gewurtz," so that might help. They're pretty sweet, light and a little spicy. It turned out to be a lovely introduction to wine, and I'm now fully enjoying the more fuller-bodied reds! [img]http://www.wines.com/ubb2/smile.gif[/img] So, it might only be a matter of time...

The other thing I heard recently at a "Wines 101" class I took (they're very fun, BTW, if you have access to them!) was that sparkling wines shouldn't be overlooked, and the good ones can be very sweet and light.

I've also been told (but haven't confirmed by tasting yet) that Muscats and Late Harvest Reislings are also sweeter.

Good luck! [img]http://www.wines.com/ubb2/smile.gif[/img]
jessie

- Zinner - 04-09-2000

Jessie is very much on the right track.

The "New Gewurtz" is from Alexander Valley Vineyards in Sonoma County, Calif. It's a lovely wine that even those of us who have been drinking wine for quite a while usually appreciate. I served it once with a mild salad topped with strawberries and toasted macadamia nuts(strawberry dressing) and everyone loved it.