WineBoard
Very Novice Newbie - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Very Novice Newbie (/thread-17668.html)

- jodi217 - 08-09-2007

Hi Everyone!

I am very new to the word of wine and need help. I want to be a wine lover but I never enjoyed the taste of wine. Probably because I never really had any ‘good’ wine. My question is which type of wine (brand as well) would be best for someone to start with to develop a palette for wine. My husband and I love to partake in a drink every now and then but are planning to start a family soon and thought that switching to wine would be the best bet.

Thank you!

Jodi

- wondersofwine - 08-09-2007

Welcome to the Wine Board.
You'll want to avoid all alcohol when pregnant. However, before you take that step or after the baby is born, a glass or two of wine a day can have some health benefits.
Do you have a "sweet tooth?" Is your usual beverage sweet tea or Pepsi or Coca Cola or the like? If so, you may want to start with a sweet or "off dry" wine such as a German Riesling Spatlese or a Muscat (Italian version may be labeled Moscati d'Asti) for white wine or Italian Lambrusco for a red wine. Reunite Lambrusco has wide distribution but you may be able to find a better Lambrusco at a good wine shop. Sangria, a wine with fruit juice added, may also appeal to you as a refreshing summer drink.