WineBoard
Looking for the right wine - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Looking for the right wine (/thread-17610.html)

- Heerter - 02-11-2004

hello, I'm a college student looking for advice from experienced wine afficianados. The question sounds strange, but here goes:
Which wine would go best with spaghettios? I was thinking maybe a pinot grigio, but I'm not sure. Keep in mind spaghettios contain cheese as well as pasta in tomato sauce. It might sound like an inane question, but really, what could be more romantic than spaghettios and wine (especially the right wine)? And, my purposes are romantic. I appreciate the help.
-Josh

- sedhed - 02-12-2004

Chef-Boy-Ardee?

- winoweenie - 02-12-2004

HJi Heerter and welcome to the board. My personal prefernces would be a nice simple Chianti Classico or a fruity Zinfandel like Clines' California bottling. Good luck you romantic devil. WW

- Thomas - 02-12-2004

Forgive me--but what is spaghettio? Is it canned, boxed, an American regional idea of Italian food?

- PinotEnvy - 02-12-2004

Actually Sed, they are made by Franco American.

Also, I am not sure if it influences the reccomendation, but are your Os meatless, the ones with hotdogs or meatballs?

- Thomas - 02-12-2004

Hotdogs! I suppose I don't wanna know what these things are...

- quijote - 02-12-2004

Heerter, if your request is serious (and not a troll), and if you have access to a kitchen, why not pay a couple of dollars more for some real pasta, a jar of Classico sauce, and a chunk of parm cheese? Much better than overprocessed and overcooked canned food.

- sedhed - 02-12-2004

If this is a serious post, I suggest a jug of Inglenook Burgundy. You can buy a 4 LTR bottle for about $11.00; it goes with anything and you can proably get at least 4 meals out of it.