WineBoard
Good Cabernet - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Good Cabernet (/thread-17428.html)

- Silly Rabbit - 12-15-2000

I am very new to the wine world. I was wondering, though, if I could get some picks from the more experienced connoisseurs here.

What would you suggest as a good Cabernet, meant to be consumed young (3 years or so) that is at most $20 per bottle. I prefer wines that are a bit fuller and less dry; easy on the tannins.

I suppose I am more interested in specific winemakers that churn out consistently good wines as opposed to a specific batch of wines. I find, for example, Beaulieu Vineyard as a consistently good winemaker and tend towards that label quite often.

- Innkeeper - 12-15-2000

Hi Silly, and welcome to the Wine Board. There are myriads of great approachable Cabernets available in your price range. We just returned from a trip the the Central Coast, not exactly Cabernet country. We did bring one back, 1997 EOS, Cabernet Sauvignon, Paso Robles. Also enjoyed another on the road, 1998 Chateau Julien, Cabernet Sauvignon, Monterey. Both were delicious and approachable. A good New York wine store such as Garnet's on Lex should either have one of these or be able to make a sound recommendation for something else.

- winoweenie - 12-15-2000