WineBoard
So many types of wine - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: So many types of wine (/thread-17402.html)

- Kenna - 05-21-2000

I am really new at knowing my wines. I know nothing. I know I want a sweet wine with no bitterness or much after taste. Does one exist? And what is a Merlot and a Chardonay. I have tried to find it here and at other web sites but to no avail. Thanks for the help.
Kenna

- Innkeeper - 05-21-2000

Although there is no correct place to get into the wine game, you may want to try something else if you have a sweet tooth. To get to reds you might go the White Zinfandel route. One of the first major purveyors of that stuff, Sutter Home, developed a line of reds (not including their Red Zinfandel which preceded the white one) that were sort of designed to ween people off White Zinfandel. These include a Merlot For white wine you might start out with Riesling. If it is an American one, look for 2% or more residual sugar on the label, to start with. If it is German Riesling look for Spatleses and Ausleses.

- mrdutton - 05-21-2000

Merlot is a red wine. If you have a yearning for sweet wines, you might want to shy away from this one at first. However, if you check the MERLOT section of this Wine Board, you can find comments about a wide variety of Merlots.

Some comments even include statements like - "lots of up-front fruit", which means that when tasted by the tip of the tongue there is an indication of some sweetness and on the nose there is the smell of fruit. However the wine is still considered to be dry because it doesn't taste (overall) sweet.