WineBoard
Diablo Zinfandel - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Diablo Zinfandel (/thread-17318.html)

- arothafel - 02-19-2006

This is my first time to the board, so I hope this is not a repeat...

I was recently contacted by a wine broker who talked me into purchasing 6 bottles of 2002 Diablo (of Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA) Zinfandel at $40 per bottle. I was not impressed. Has anyone else even heard of this wine or have an opinion? I can't even find the winery "Diablo Winery Santa Rosa" through Google!

Thanks in advance for any insight,
Art

- Kcwhippet - 02-19-2006

Welcome to the Board, arothafel. I have never heard of this winery. I've been in the business for a number of years, and I've heard of some wineries very few others have heard of, but not this one. If you don't mind, would you please tell us the wine broker's company name. I would think that if they are at all reputable, they would take back the remaining bottles at no charge to you, and return the rest of your money. BTW, there aren't too many Zins going for that high a price, but I'm sure most if not all are well known to the experts on this Board. I certainly don't know all the wines out there, but those I'm not aware of are easy to find. This one isn't which makes me suspicious.

- arothafel - 02-19-2006

Thanks for the quick reply... and I, too, am mystified. The broker is Montesquieu .... website is:

www.montesquieu.com and www.thespiritofwine.com

They cold called me out of the blue. Are they reputable? I don't know.

The wine itself has absolutely no body or any of the familiar traits of a good Zin. The broker tells me they only made 300 cases of this wine and that it is soooooo special. I don't think so.