WineBoard
Newbie to Merlot - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Newbie to Merlot (/thread-17295.html)

- Oregonia - 12-10-2001

My husband and I were given a bottle of Markham Vineyard's Merlot 1999. I've never tried Merlot before and had some last night. Is this a nice bottle? Are there any suggestions on Merlot? What temp should I serve this at?
Thanks again guys!

- winoweenie - 12-11-2001

This is one of the better Napa merlot and Cab producers. I try to serve most all of my red wines in the 65* range. Warmer and it seems to accentuate the alcohol and cooler it masks the wines flavors.WW

- Thomas - 12-11-2001

Oregonia, I am concerned. You say that you had the wine "last night" and then you asked us if it is a nice bottle.

Did you like the wine? If so, then it is a nice bottle.

Serve red wine, in general, between 60 and 65 degrees F. The lighter Beaujolais, et al, can take a little chill.

- Innkeeper - 12-11-2001

WW is right, your friend gave you what I consider a rarity, a decent American varietal merlot. The same goes for those from Oz. Chilean ones are fine if you like the flavor of green peppers in your wine. Some people do, but I don't like the flavor even in green peppers. Merlot is very widely planted, but only grows consistently well (more than one isolated producer) in a few places. There is Pomerol and St Emilion on the east side of the river in Bordeaux. Then there is Collio, the most far northeastern part of Italy, smack up against the Slovenian border.