WineBoard
imported wines - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: imported wines (/thread-17279.html)

- jujugrape - 03-25-2005

I am a definite novice but noticed that recently on travel to both Northern Italy and Spain the wines I consumed, both white and red, and not expensive, were wonderful. I find that my experience drinking wine in the states has not been as enjoyable.

I was wondering if this is due to the nitrates that are added to the wines we get in America or what the difference is that they were all so much more delicious when drinking them in their country of origin.

- Innkeeper - 03-25-2005

Hi Juju, and welcome to the Wine Board. It is not the nitrates. These occur in all wine. It is more a New World/Old World thing. People who have been drinking wine for a long time, such as moi, can appreciate wines from both worlds, but most novices stick with one world or the other for awhile.

You can buy inexpensive Old World wine in the States, particularly in New York. Look for values from Italy (especially the Central and Southern part), Spain, Portugal, and the South of France. We have been finding value after value of delicious wine from Southtern France recently. Check out the Italian, Spain/Portugal/and Rhone/South of France threads of the board for ideas. Go back a year on each thread for a wealth of information on these wine.

Once you've gained more experience, give the New World a shot again.

- Kcwhippet - 03-25-2005