WineBoard
Have my tastes become expensive? Help! - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Have my tastes become expensive? Help! (/thread-17122.html)

- NorCalGirl - 04-24-2003

Okay - I'm miffed...I've been drinking wine consistenty for a few years now (I'm 26) and have enjoyed a diversity of wines. In the last year or so, I have become more adventurous and have been trying a wide variety of wines in an effort to learn more about what specifically appeals to me. Right now, I seem to be on a roll of one wine after another that I just don't really care for. I have learned that I don't care for anything especially dry (in particular, dry red wine) but I just haven't had anything lately that leaves me wanting more (even when there is still more in the bottle, which is unusual for me!). Are my tastes just growing more specific or do I need to head in a different direction? Here is an example of what I've had in the last few days....

Ch. Ste. Michelle CS Cold Creek Vineyard (99)
Good overall, but too dry for me

Phillips Old Vine Zin Lodi (99)
Also good overall, but still too dry for me

Ballentine Napa Zin (98) VERY alcoholic - couldn't even find much of the other flavors

Trinity Oaks Zinfandel (99)
Very inexpensive, and boring along with that hot, alcoholic finish

Kendall-Jackson Chardonnay Grand Reserve
I liked this quite a bit - nice blend of fruit/oak/vanilla

I tend to like more of the fruit-forward Zins but not with the extra-high alcohol content... have been trying to branch out with not much success...