WineBoard
HELP, I need help on the literature of wine!! - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: HELP, I need help on the literature of wine!! (/thread-16916.html)

- celribbit - 01-08-2001

Im a tourism student in England. I have a work experience placement in a 5* hotel. In my job description, it said that I would deal with the purchasing and handling of wines for the restaurant. I have no idea on where to start when it comes to wine. Can someone pls. help me in starting to learn about wine and its industry. Maybe pointers on how I can learn the basics of wine. PLS HELP as this will help me in my work experience.

- barnesy - 01-08-2001

Well, if you are in the London area, you have a great oppurtunity. On the main page of this site should be an article about Vinopolis. Read that article and go there. It would be an interactive way to learn exactly what you need to learn, and fun as all get out. Wish I had something like that near here [img]http://www.wines.com/ubb2/frown.gif[/img] I am sure they will also have some books in stock they can recommend. Also, another good basic learning book is Wine for Dummies. Despite the derogatory name, its very well written and filled with great info.

Barnesy

- Drew - 01-08-2001

celribbit, another good book for novices is "The Wall Street Journal Guide to Wine". Very well written with the beginner in mind.

Drew

- celribbit - 01-09-2001

hey thanks for all the advice, that is exactly what I needed!!! The only problem with Barnesy's first suggestion is that I dont actually live in London!! But I will try to go b4 my work experience!!, many thanks

- Botafogo - 01-09-2001