WineBoard
Differences in wines - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Differences in wines (/thread-16753.html)

- Harlequin - 08-11-2004

Posting this message proves that I am a complete novice. I wanted to know if anyone could tell me or tell me where I could find out the differences in wines. What I mean is what makes a wine a Merlot or a Cabernet Sauvignon or a Chardonnay? How does the name/type of a wine make it different than others? Is it location or taste or type of soil or region or is it all just a name? PLease excuse my ignorance but I would really like to know.

- bigredwines - 08-11-2004

HARLEQUIN, WELCOME TO THE WINE BOARD. I HAVE BEEN ENJOYING WINES FOR ABOUT TWO YEARS. ONE OF THE BOOKS THAT HAS BEEN MOST HELPFUL TO ME IS WINE FOR DUMMIES WRITEN BY ED MCCARTY AND MARY EWING -MULLIGAN.THIS BOOK IS EASY TO UNDERSTAND AND WILL REALLY GIVE YOU BASIC 101 OF WINES.IT ALWAYS HELPS IF YOU CAN FIND A FRIEND THAT HAS A PASSION FOR AND ENJOYS COLLECTING WINES.ASK LOTS OF QUESTIONS AND TASTE,TASTE,TASTE!

- Thomas - 08-12-2004

What bigredwines is saying (in upper case bigred? hard to read) is that your questions are not small; they encompass many intricate details about wine that cannot be easily answered in an online forum.

One thing you should know: Merlot, Chardonnay and Cabernet Sauvignon are the names of grapes.

[This message has been edited by foodie (edited 08-12-2004).]

- bigredwines - 08-12-2004

Foodie,sorry about the caps lock key .Typing and spelin have never been a strong points of mine.

- Kcwhippet - 08-12-2004

Is that something that the denizens of Phoenix have in common?

- winoweenie - 08-12-2004

I resemble that remarkable. WW [img]http://wines.com/ubb2/wink.gif[/img]

- Thomas - 08-12-2004

KC, isn't that spelled "feenix?"

- Kcwhippet - 08-12-2004