WineBoard
Brand Spankin' New - Printable Version

+- WineBoard (https://www.wines.com/wineboard)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-100.html)
+--- Forum: For the Novice (https://www.wines.com/wineboard/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Brand Spankin' New (/thread-16633.html)

Pages: 1 2

- Dawgman - 06-22-2003

I am brand new to both the joys of drinking wine and to this discussion board. Please be gentle with me. I have also noticed that there are not too many folks posting from the deep south...I wonder why?
My question - being "brand spankin' new" is whether or not my approach to discovering the enjoymnet of wine is a good one. I have been purchasing different types of wine and tasting them. So far so good but is it better to try the same type of wine from different makers first or try different types of wines, as I am doing now? My thinking is that I need to find out what I like and then move on to the specific vintages, etc of that type of wine. All I know is that I am having a good time! I'm going to try Pinot Noir tonight for the first time - we'll see how I like it!

- Georgie - 06-22-2003

Hi Dawgman, and welcome to the board. I, too, am a newbie wine drinker. One thing I have found very helpful is the Wine/Food Affinities forum. Depending on what I'm serving I've done many a search and asked many a question about what wine goes with what. By doing so, I've been steered toward a variety of new wines, that have paired nicely with what we happen to be eating. The experts on this board have an unbelievable wealth of knowledge to tap into and if you keep reading, you'll get lots of recommendations. Have fun!

- stevebody - 06-22-2003

Welcome, my friend. I'm from the South but now live in Seattle. Honest but painful answer: The South is not as active a wine territory as most other parts of the country.